» » Crimson King - In the Wake of Poseidon

Crimson King - In the Wake of Poseidon mp3 album

Crimson King - In the Wake of Poseidon mp3 album Performer: Crimson King
Title: In the Wake of Poseidon
Style: Prog Rock
Date of release: 1970
Size MP3: 1649 mb
Size FLAC: 1222 mb
Rating: 4.4

King Crimson - In The Wake Of Poseidon (1970). Update Required To play the media you will need to either update your browser to a recent version or update your Flash plugin.

In the Wake of Poseidon is the second studio album by English progressive rock group King Crimson, released in May 1970 by Island Records in Europe, Atlantic Records in the United States, and Vertigo Records in New Zealand. The album was recorded during instability in the band, with several personnel changes, but repeats the style of their first album, In the Court of the Crimson King.

Their second album - largely composed of Robert Fripp's songwriting and material salvaged from their stage repertory ("Pictures of a City" and "The Devil's Triangle") - is actually better produced and better sounding than their first. Surprisingly, Fripp's guitar is not the dominant instrument here: The Mellotron, taken over by Fripp after McDonald's departure - and played even better than before - still remains the band's signature. The record doesn't tread enough new ground to precisely rival In the Court of the Crimson King.

King Crimson practically invented progressive rock with 1969's In the Court of the Crimson King. So, it was inevitable that their 1970 follow-up In the Wake of Poseidon would feel like a letdown. The album plays like a hazier mirror image of the band's earth-shattering debut, right down to the similarly worded title. Like Court, its songs combine jazz, psychedelia, folk and heavy rock into a hypnotic whirlpool, showcasing the experimental mindset of Robert Fripp

Poseidon is a transitional album, with the personnel in complete flux. While Michael Giles plays drums on the album and Greg Lake contributes most of the vocals, both had officially left the band, leaving Fripp and wordsmith/light engineer Peter Sinfield as sole remaining members. Visit King Crimson on the web. Track Listing: Peace-A Beginning; Pictures of a City (including 42nd at Treadmill); Cadence and Cascade; In the Wake of Poseidon (including Libra's Theme); Peace-A Theme; Cat Food; The Devil's Triangle, including (a) Merday Morn; (b) Hand of Sceiron; (c) Garden of Worm; Peace-An End Bonus Tracks: Cat Food (single version); Groon.